Learning in EYFS


Our Vision for the children at Dawley C of E Primary Academy is to provide an environment that stimulates our pupils to be confident, enthusiastic and inquisitive learners. Our pupils will be able to ask questions, offer their own ideas and explanations with confidence and cooperation. Whilst in our Nursery and Reception classes, our pupils will work with high levels of engagement, curiosity, collaboration and cooperation.



We plan an exciting and challenging curriculum based on our observation of children’s needs, interests, and stages of development across the seven areas of learning to enable the children to achieve and (sometimes) exceed the Early Learning Goals. 

All seven areas of learning and development are important and interconnected.

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive, both in the EYFS and into Key Stage 1. These three areas are the prime areas: 

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Children are also supported through the four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Our curriculum has been developed to ensure that we provide a language rich environment for our pupils to learn and develop their vocabulary as they explore a wide range of learning provocations linked to topics and interests.

Our staff work alongside our pupils to provide the best possible start to their education at Dawley C of E. There is a balance of adult led and child led learning with timetabled sessions exploring and learning in our outdoor classroom.